Why medicine?

Sorry, this is not my personal statement for medical school application. 😛 Friendly tip, I actually kept a list of special “medicine is what I want to do” moments. Here is a template (click here) that I used and kept in the beginning of my planner (staple it to your front page). It helped write my personal statement. In my toughest moments, I went back to them for inspiration and motivation.

Anyway, I am inspired to go into medicine because of a family member. She is my best friend. I watch her struggle with a chronic disease every day. I did not want anyone to suffer as much as her. So, she was my inspiration.

Another moment that I remembered was being a camp counselor. I volunteered for a children’s camp, and I loved every moment of it. They had some of the worst diseases and were such an inspiration.  Being with them, making them laugh or encouraging them was the best. I could not see myself  in any other position except making kids feel better. I knew this was what I wanted to do. I had other volunteering opportunities with children, but this experience stuck with me.

One thing for sure, I am not going into medicine for money. In my opinion, it’s not worth it. For the field I see myself (pediatrics), I can make the same amount of money without ten years of schooling and $200,000 in debt. I work in IT, and there are many opportunities of growth. So, hitting near $200,000 could be easily done at my company.

I really encourage you all to write down moments of “why medicine”? It’s a huge benefit when application season comes around. In tough times, these moments encouraged me.  I attached a printable to help you out (click here). Just staple that sheet after the front page of your planner. Then, look back for motivation. 🙂

Catch you later,

Ahina

If you have questions, do not hesitate to email at premedvideos1@gmail.com

Leave a comment